half-deflated airbed

Today, our airbed half deflates
as the dawn chorus sings.
It has held us together
in wild and beautiful places
where one day I hope we’ll return.
It has seen the sun come up
and warm our sweet, sleepy heads.
But here, in our own house
it has shrunk away beneath me,
beneath the extra burden
I have brought to our bed.

So, my head is unsupported
and my heart is on the floor.
But thankfully I can sit up
and watch your calm, loving face
still sleeping, still sweet.
And I am grateful to our airbed
for all the happy times shared,
and for showing me the cold, morning floor
while you have its deserved comfort
and full support.

Leave a Reply

